Clavering Primary School

  1. Learning
  3. Computing Curriculum


For more information, please contact Mr McAvoy (Deputy Headteacher), Miss Leighton (Science and Technology Leader) and/or your child's/children's teacher(s).


Note: the Clavering Curriculum for Computing includes Computing (Computer Science and Programming), ICT (Information Communication Technology) and E-Safety.


  • A high-quality computing education equips pupils to use computational thinking and creativity to understand and change the world.
  • Computing has deep links with mathematics, science, and design and technology, and provides insights into both natural and artificial systems.
  • The core of computing is computer science, in which pupils are taught the principles of information and computation, how digital systems work, and how to put this knowledge to use through programming.
  • Building on this knowledge and understanding, pupils are equipped to use information technology to create programs, systems and a range of content.
  • Computing also ensures that pupils become digitally literate – able to use, and express themselves and develop their ideas through, information and communication technology – at a level suitable for the future workplace and as active participants in a digital world.

Aims of the Clavering Curriculum for Computing

The Clavering Curriculum for Computing aims to ensure that all pupils: 

  • can understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including abstraction, logic, algorithms and data representation;
  • can analyse problems in computational terms, and have repeated practical experience of writing computer programs in order to solve such problems;
  • can evaluate and apply information technology, including new or unfamiliar technologies, analytically to solve problems;
  • are safe, responsible, competent, confident and creative users of information and communication technology.

Clavering Learning Foci for Computing 

1. To develop knowledge and understanding of E-Safety.

2. To develop ICT skills.

3. To develop computing skills.

Topics studied in each year group

Year 1:

E-Safety: Making suitable choices

ICT Skills: Information around us; Introduction to modelling; Using a word bank (labelling and classifying); Representing information graphically

Computing: Introduction to coding 1; Introduction to coding 2

Year 2:

E-Safety: Keeping Safe Online

ICT Skills: Finding information; Creating pictures; Writing stories and communicating ideas; Questions and answers

Computing: Simple algorithms; Applying algorithms

Year 3:

E-Safety: Reliable sources of information

ICT Skills: Combining text and graphics; Manipulating sound; Exploring simulations; Using e-mail

Computing: Understanding output; Understanding input

Year 4:

E-Safety: Being information wise and protecting your identity

ICT Skills: Modelling effects on screen; Developing images using repeating patterns; Branching databases; Writing for different audiences; Collecting and presenting information

Computing: Varying output; Varying input

Year 5:

E-Safety: Friends online, cyber-bullying and plagiarism

ICT Skills: Evaluating data and checking for accuracy; Spreadsheets 1; Graphical modelling; Monitoring environmental conditions

Computing: Debugging programs; Logical reasoning

Year 6:

E-Safety: How to protect yourself online

ICT Skills: Advanced Internet search skills; Controlling devices; Multimedia presentation; Spreadsheets 2

Computing: Controlling physical systems; Simulating physical systems